понедельник, 11 апреля 2011 г.

Флаг Соединенного Королевства

12th April 1606 Union Flag became the official flag of the United Kingdom. It is called  the Union Jack and symbolizes the administrative union of the countries of the United Kingdom. It is made up of the Flags of three of the Kingdom's countries all united under one Sovereign - the countries of 'England, of 'Scotland' and of 'Northern Ireland' (since 1921 only Northern Ireland has been part of the United Kingdom). As Wales was not a Kingdom but a Principality it could not be included on the flag. The Union Flag is commonly known as the Union Jack, although the exact origin of the name is unclear. One explanation is that it gets its name from the "jack staff" of naval vessels from which the original Union Flag was flown. The Union Flag should be flown with the broader diagonal band of white uppermost in the hoist (near the pole) and the narrower band of white uppermost in the fly (furthest from the pole).

Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий